Watch CBSN Live

Colin Powell, Allen West among those receiving votes for House speaker

Rep. John Boehner, R-Ohio, was reelected as Speaker of the House today amid rumors of a possible movement to oust him.  The coup never happened but that doesn't mean everyone in the House Republican conference voted for Boehner.

During the roll call, nine Republicans cast their votes for someone other than Boehner including three for House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, R-Va., who some speculated would be the alternative to Boehner.  One of Cantor's votes came from freshman Rep. Ted Yoho, R-Fla. - an interesting move for someone on his first day in Congress.

Former Secretary of State Colin Powell and former Rep. Allen West, R-Fla., both received votes (House rules state that the House speaker doesn't have to be a member of the House) - Powell received a vote from Democratic Rep. Jim Cooper of Tennessee and West received two GOP votes.

A few members voted for other current House members and, in possibly the most random vote, Rep. Walter Jones, R-N.C., voted for former U.S. Comptroller General David Walker, who has been an outspoken advocate of government fiscal responsibility.