A New Jersey teen is under orders to let the moms and dads of anyone he dates know that he's a convicted sex offender.
The New Jersey Supreme Court is refusing to hear arguments in the case, meaning a lower court ruling will stand against the 17-year-old boy, whose name is not being revealed. He pleaded guilty in 2004 to committing a sex act against his 6-year-old half-sister.
At sentencing, the judge gave him probation and ordered him to register as a sex offender. He also told the teen that until he turns 18, he must let his dates' parents know about the conviction.
His public defender appealed, complaining the ruling circumvents the state's Megan's Law notification. The lawyer says he's "disappointed" by the court's decision.
The prosecutor has a different opinion, calling it "appropriate."