Watch CBSN Live

All-Star Reserves Announced

Stephon Marbury, Anthony Mason, Antonio McDyess and Theo Ratliff were selected Tuesday for their first NBA All-Star game.

Fourteen players were picked in a vote by coaches as reserves for the Feb. 11 game at Washington.

Joining Marbury (New Jersey), Mason (Miami) and Ratliff (Philadelphia) on the East team were Ray Allen and Glenn Robinson (Milwaukee), Allan Houston (New York) and Jerry Stackhouse (Detroit).

McDyess (Denver) was joined on the West team by Michael Finley (Dallas), Kevin Garnett (Minnesota), Karl Malone (Utah), Gary Payton (Seattle), David Robinson (San Antonio) and Rasheed Wallace (Portland).

Vince Carter (Toronto), Grant Hill and Tracy McGrady (Orlando), Allen Iverson (Philadelphia) and Alonzo Mourning (Miami) previously were elected by fans to start for the East.

Shaquille Neal and Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers, Tim Duncan of San Antonio, Jason Kidd of Phoenix and Chris Webber of Sacramento were elected to start for the West.

Malone was picked for his 13th All-Star game, tying him for third with Wilt Chamberlain, Bob Cousy and John Havlicek behind Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (19) and Jerry West (14).

David Robinson was picked for the 10th time, Payton for the seventh and Garnett for the fourth.

Allen, Finley, Houston, Glenn Robinson and Stackhouse were selected for the second time each.

©2001 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue