Watch CBS News

60 Minutes wins 2012 Edward R. Murrow award

CBS Radio News is the best. Again. The CBS Radio News staff has been chosen winners of the Edward R. Murrow "Overall Excellence" award for a record sixth straight year, one of four Edward R. Murrow awards won by CBS News. The winners were announced today by the Radio, Television & Digital News Association, the awards' sponsor.

Read the full list of 2012 Murrow Award winners

"From the jam packed streets of Cairo to the battlefields around Sirte, Libya, from atop mounds of rubble in Sendai, Japan, to the bin Laden compound in Abbottabad, Pakistan, our correspondents were on the scene. Thanks to the dedication and outstanding talent here at CBS Radio News, our historic streak continues," said Harvey Nagler, Vice President, CBS Radio News.

CBS Radio was also cited for best "Audio News Series" for Heather Bosch's 9/11 10th Anniversary series, which featured interviews with relatives of those killed, survivors of the attack and their rescuers.

The other two Murrow awards for CBS News went to the CBS Evening News and 60 Minutes in video categories.

"Gunwalker," the CBS Evening News investigation that broke news of the ATF's botched firearms monitoring program, won for Investigative Reporting. It was reported by Sharyl Attkisson and produced by Chris Scholl with Bill Piersol as senior producer; it was edited by Matt Tureck and shot by Don Lee. 60 Minutes won for "The Gardens of the Queen" for Video Feature Reporting for the colorful story on ocean reefs and environmentalists' attempts to preserve them reported by Anderson Cooper, produced by Andy Court and Anya Bourg, and edited by Terry Manning.

Winners will be honored at an RTDNA gala in New York on October 8.

CBS News Chairman Jeff Fager is the executive producer of 60 Minutes; Patricia Shevlin is the executive producer of the CBS Evening News.

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.