Watch CBS News

Creative Arts Emmys Doled Out In Hollywood

LOS ANGELES (   —  "Tonight Show" host Jimmy Fallon received the Emmy for outstanding guest actor in a comedy, helping "Saturday Night Live" earn top winner honors at Saturday's Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards at the Nokia Theatre.

Fallon won for hosting "Saturday Night Live," winning in a field that also included Steve Buscemi ("Portlandia"); Louis C.K., also for hosting NBC's "SNL"; Gary Cole ("Veep"); Bob Newhart ("The Big Bang Theory"); and Nathan Lane ("Modern Family").

Although "SNL" does not air in prime time, it is eligible for the Primetime Emmys, which cover programs that initially aired between 6 p.m. and 2 a.m.

The NBC late-night sketch comedy series also won for outstanding costumes for a variety program or special; outstanding hairstyling for a multi-camera series or special; outstanding makeup for a multi-camera series or special (for the episode Fallon hosted); and outstanding directing for a variety series.

The other acting awards went to "Mom"'s Allison Janney, Joe Morton and Uzo Aduba.

HBO's "Game of Thrones" and "True Detective"; "Sherlock: His Last Vow" from the Public Broadcasting Service and "Cosmos: A SpaceTime Odyssey," which aired on both Fox Broadcasting and cable's NatGeo, each won four awards.

The Creative Arts Emmys mix awards for technical disciplines with honors for guest acting, hosting a reality or reality-competition program and narrating.

Janney won for outstanding guest actress in a drama series for her role on Showtime's "Masters of Sex." On "Masters," she plays the wife of the provost (Beau Bridges) of the college where William Masters (Michael Sheen) and Virginia Johnson (Lizzy Caplan) conduct their sex research.

In her acceptance speech, Janney called it "perhaps the favorite role I have ever played."

The Emmy was the fifth for Janney, who won two outstanding lead actress in a drama series Emmys and two as outstanding supporting actress for her portrayal of White House press secretary C.J. Cregg on "The West Wing," which ran on NBC from 1999-2006.

The other nominees were Kate Burton ("Scandal"); Jane Fonda ("The Newsroom"); Kate Mara ("House of Cards"); Margo Martindale ("The Americans"); and Diana Rigg ("Game of Thrones").

Janney is also a nominee for outstanding supporting actress in a comedy series for her role on CBS' "Mom." Those awards will be presented at the Primetime Emmy Awards, Aug. 25.

Morton received the Emmy for outstanding guest actor in a drama for his portrayal of the father of crisis manager (Kerry Washington) on ABC's "Scandal."

"I want to thank the scrumptious cast I work with every week," Morton said on stage. "Mostly I'd like to thank my parents who are no longer with us. I also want to thank the genius of Shonda Rhimes," referring to the series' creator.

The other nominees were Dylan Baker ("The Good Wife"); Beau Bridges ("Masters of Sex"); Reg E. Cathey ("House of Cards"); Paul Giamatti ("Downton Abbey"); and Robert Morse ("Mad Men").

Aduba won for her portrayal of Suzanne "Crazy Eyes" Warren on the Netflix series "Orange is the New Black." She beat out her castmates Laverne Cox and Natasha Lyonne; "Saturday Night Live" hosts Tina Fey and Melissa McCarthy; and Joan Cusack from Showtime's "Shameless."

Backstage, Aduba said she got the part on the very day she had decided to quit acting. She had unsuccessfully auditioned for another role on the series about inmates at a women's prison.

"Glee" star Jane Lynch received the Emmy for outstanding host of a reality or reality-competition program for NBC's "Hollywood Game Night," beating a field that included last year's winners, Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn from "Project Runway" and the 2012 winner, Tom Bergeron of "Dancing With The Stars."

The other nominees were Anthony Bourdain ("The Taste"); Cat Deeley ("So You Think You Can Dance"); and Betty White ("Betty White's Off Their Rockers").

Lynch was also nominated for outstanding narrator for Discovery Channel's "Penguins: Waddle All The Way," but lost to Jeremy Irons for his work on "Game of Lions," Nat Geo Wild. The other nominees were Daniel Craig, Whoopi Goldberg and Henry Strozier.

Former Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger became an Emmy winner as an executive producer of Showtime's "Years of Living Dangerously," which received the Emmy as outstanding documentary or nonfiction special.

Marion Dougherty posthumously received the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences' Governors Award for her work in casting.

"There couldn't be a more perfect recipient of this award," Jon Voight said in accepting the award on behalf of Dougherty, who died in 2011 at age 88.

Dougherty cast Voight in his first role in television one scene in a 1963 episode of the crime drama "Naked City," then in the late 1960s persuaded director John Schlesinger to overcome his initial preference for another actor to cast him as male prostitute Joe Buck in "Midnight Cowboy,"

Dougherty was the casting director for most of the run of the 1947-58 NBC dramatic anthology "Kraft Television Theatre," helping introduce such then unknowns as James Dean, Warren Beatty, Jack Lemmon and Jack Klugman.

She also recommended that Carroll O'Connor be cast as Archie Bunker in the 1970s CBS classic "All in the Family."

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.