European Flight Cancellations: The Latest

Passengers rest on camp beds in a terminal at the airport in Munich, southern Germany, on Saturday, April 17, 2010. Due to the volcanic ash cloud from the eruption under the Eyjafjallajokull glacier in Iceland, all flight from and to all Germany airports are suspended on Saturday. (AP Photo/Matthias Schrader) AP Photo/Matthias Schrader

Last Updated at 6:41 p.m. EDT

Airspace throughout northern and central Europe was gradually reopening Tuesday, with about half of all regular flights operating according to the Eurocontrol air traffic agency.

U.K. Airports See Trans-Atlantic Flights Return
Volcano Ash Cloud Sets Off Global Domino Effect
Report: Volcano Ash Cloud Costs U.S. $650 Million
Photos: Iceland Volcano Eruption

Britain: Transport Secretary Andrew Adonis said all British airports would be reopen from 2100GMT (1700EST), allowing passenger services into the U.K. to resume. Britain's Civil Aviation Authority said all U.K. airspace would reopen at the same time.

Germany: Airspace closed for regular flights until further notice - except for Hamburg and Bremen airports, which were to be open for regular flights between 2100GMT Tuesday (5 p.m. EDT) and 0600GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Wednesday. Air traffic control says weather forecasts suggest that that time frame could be extended and other areas could be reopened soon.

Airlines already are being permitted to operate a limited number of flights to and from all airports - up to 800 in total Tuesday - under so-called visual flight rules.

France: Limited flights from the Paris airports to several international destinations resume Tuesday, most French airports now open to limited traffic. The government hopes 100 percent of long-haul flights and 60 percent of medium-haul flights will run Wednesday.

Netherlands: Dozens of flights depart and arrive at Amsterdam's Schiphol Airport and the government announces that flights can now be carried out in darkness using instruments. The airport lists both canceled and departed flights Tuesday morning after the Dutch government approved flights under certain conditions. KLM lists about 40 flights due to arrive or depart. Company says it is "resuming normal operations in a phased manner."

Sweden: Stockholm's Arlanda airport is expected to close at 1800 GMT (2 p.m. EDT) as the ash cloud moves in over central Sweden. Airports at Skavsta, Goteborg and Malmo are also closed. Overflights at high altitude are permitted across the country.

Norway: Aviation officials opened Norwegian airspace Tuesday afternoon until at least 0000 GMT (8 p.m. EDT) after weather forecasts indicated the latest wave of ash would pass south of Norway. Authorities had closed airports along the southwestern coast. Oslo's Gardermoen international airport is open for flights to and from the U.S. and some European airports. Oslo's discount airline terminals, Torp and Rygge, are also open.

Austria: Austria: Austrian airspace remains open after permission to resume takeoffs and landings took effect at 0300 GMT Monday (11 p.m. EDT Sunday). Some flights continue to be canceled but situation improving.

Ireland: Irish Aviation Authority says Shannon airport in the west was reopening at 1200GMT (8 a.m. EDT) but the airports in Dublin and Cork remain closed until at least 1800GMT (2 p.m. EDT). Flights above 20,500 feet are permitted.

Italy: Officials say a handful of domestic flights have resumed through Milan as Italy starts reopening airports. Rome's Leonardo da Vinci airport is clearing out waiting passengers with 22 international flights and 32 domestic. Most passengers are English and German.Alitalia said it was the first company to reactivate flights between Europe and Japan. The Italian airline also said it operated 580 flights Tuesday, including 149 international and 21 intercontinental, or more than 80 percent of a normal day's flights.

Denmark: Several Danish airports including Copenhagen will reopen Wednesday at 0000 GMT (8 p.m. EDT) but close again six hours later. Airspace in northern Denmark will remain closed except for overflights at high altitude.

Switzerland: Airspace reopened to regular traffic at 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Tuesday.

Poland: The Polish Air Navigation Services Agency, said the Polish skies would open to air travel at 7 a.m. (0500 GMT) Wednesday.

The Polish airline LOT said it is preparing to resume some flights from New York and Chicago and European and domestic flights but did not give details.

Czech Republic: Airspace and airports remain open. Prague airport has confirmed two thirds of normal daily flights for Tuesday.

Slovakia: Airspace reopened since midday Monday, but Ryanair cancels all Tuesday flights from Bratislava.

Spain: Reopened all airports Sunday.

Finland: Airports closed Tuesday and extended flight restrictions until Wednesday 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT). Authorities opened airspace briefly Monday. International overflights allowed again above 31,000 feet until Thursday 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT).

Latvia: Latvian airspace open Tuesday morning, and two flights have landed at Riga International Airport.

Lithuania: Airspace is open, and first departures have taken place from Vilnius International Airport. All flights at Kaunas Airport are canceled, as are a majority of those at Vilnius.

Estonia: Tallinn Airport was open until 0700 GMT (3 a.m. EDT) and is now closed again, and will remain so until 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT).

Hungary: Hungarian airspace open since Monday, with some minor restrictions overnight. Some 15 flights departed from Budapest's Ferihegy Airport early Tuesday to destinations including Prague, Paris, Madrid, Athens and Amsterdam.

Serbia and Montenegro: Airspace and all airports open since Sunday. Authorities expect 75 percent of flights to run.

Croatia: Airspace and all airports are open. Croatia Airlines, the national carrier, restores all domestic and international flights Tuesday.

More on Volcano Fallout: Ash and Travel Woes

To Fly or Not to Fly? That's No Easy Question
Millions of Stranded Travelers Given Hope
Volcano Spews Less Ash as Lava Boils Up
More Ash Fallout: 10 Million Roses Ruined
Volcanic Ash Puts Organ Transplants in Peril
Volcano Cloud's Impact: Some $2B and Counting
Tweet This: Get Me Home
Stranded Travelers Seek Alternate Routes
Volcanic Eruption Grinds Modern World to a Halt

Video:
Flight Safety Up in the Air
Amazing Images of Iceland Volcano
Cleaning Up the Travel Mess
Global Impact of Volcano Ash
Volcano Ash Changes Behavior
The Science of Volcanoes
Second Volcano Erupts in Iceland
Iceland Volcano is Tourist Attraction
  • CBSNews

Comments