Pro Football Hall of Fame: Michael Strahan, Warren Sapp, Jonathan Ogden among finalists

16 Nov 1997: Michael Strahan #92 of the New York Giants looks on from the sidelines during their game against the Arizona Cardinals at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Mandatory Credit: Al Bello/ALLSPORT Al Bello

CANTON, Ohio Four linemen in their first year of eligibility, including single-season sacks record holder Michael Strahan, are among 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The hall announced Friday that defensive end Strahan and defensive tackle Warren Sapp made the cut, along with tackle Jonathan Ogden and guard-tackle Larry Allen.

Other finalists are running back Jerome Bettis; receivers Cris Carter, Tim Brown and Andre Reed; LB-DEs Charles Haley and Kevin Greene; guard Will Shields; defensive back Aeneas Williams; coach Bill Parcells; and owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell.

The two senior nominees are defensive tackle Curley Culp and linebacker Dave Robinson.

Between four and seven new members will be selected Feb. 2, the day before the Super Bowl, in New Orleans. reports the list will be whittled by the voters from 15 to 10 and then 10 to five in a series of voting processes. After that, the voters will weigh in with a "yay" or "nay" on the five. Former players who receive 80 percent get in, anything less and they're left out in the cold.

Here's the full list of finalists, via

Warren Sapp (DL)

Michael Strahan (DL)

Jonathan Ogden (OL)

Larry Allen (OL)

Tim Brown (WR)

Cris Carter (WR)

Andre Reed (WR)

Jerome Bettis (RB)

Wil Shields (OL)

Bill Parcells (Coach)

Kevin Greene (LB)

Charles Haley (DE/LB)

Dave Robinson (LB)

Curley Culp (DT)

Aeneas Williams (CB/S)

Edward DeBartolo, Jr. (Owner)

Art Modell (Owner)