Country Fast Facts: Cayman Islands

Cayman Islands


The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries, and were administered by Jamaica after 1863.

In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies, but when the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency.

The Cayman Islands are located in the western Caribbean Sea, comprising the islands of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman.

It is a global offshore financial services centre and one of the leading tourist scuba diving destinations in the world.

Source: CIA World Fact Book