Lena Dunham signs 7-figure book deal

Lena Dunham, the creator of HBO's critically acclaimed series "Girls," has inked a seven-figure book deal with Random House.

The 26-year-old Dunham, who received Emmy nominations as producer, director, writer and actor for the HBO comedy, has signed a deal for the essay collection "Not That Kind of Girl."

Random House spokeswoman Theresa Zoro said Monday that no publication date has been set.

Numerous publishers bid for the book, which could establish Dunham as a best-seller in the tradition of Tina Fey and Nora Ephron. Random House declined to offer financial details, but several competitors have said bidding exceeded $3.5 million.

Comments

Watch CBSN Live

Watch CBS News anytime, anywhere with the new 24/7 digital news network. Stream CBSN live or on demand for FREE on your TV, computer, tablet, or smartphone.

Watch Now

New Android App

For your Android phone and tablet, download the FREE redesigned app, featuring CBSN, live 24/7 news.

Download
The all new
CBS News App for Android® for iPad® for iPhone®
Fully redesigned. Featuring CBSN, 24/7 live news. Get the App