Lena Dunham signs 7-figure book deal

Filmmaker and actress Lena Dunham attends the Rachel Antonoff Spring 2013 presentation at the Drive In Studios on Sept. 8, 2012, in New York. Getty

Lena Dunham, the creator of HBO's critically acclaimed series "Girls," has inked a seven-figure book deal with Random House.

The 26-year-old Dunham, who received Emmy nominations as producer, director, writer and actor for the HBO comedy, has signed a deal for the essay collection "Not That Kind of Girl."

Random House spokeswoman Theresa Zoro said Monday that no publication date has been set.

Numerous publishers bid for the book, which could establish Dunham as a best-seller in the tradition of Tina Fey and Nora Ephron. Random House declined to offer financial details, but several competitors have said bidding exceeded $3.5 million.

Comments