Watch CBSN Live

2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards nominees announced

Grammy nominees
Grammy nominees 03:44

Drake and the Chainsmokers made out quite well in this year’s crop of nominees for the iHeartRadio Music Awards, with the Canadian rapper earning 12 nominations, narrowly beating out the “Closer” duo’s 11.

Drake’s nods include Song of the Year, Male Artist of the Year and Hip-Hop Artist of the Year. He also nabbed three of the five nominations for Hip-Hop Song of the Year -- for “One Dance,” “Controlla” and his collaboration with DJ Khaled, “For Free.”

Other multiple nominees included Rihanna, Ariana Grande, Justin Bieber and Beyonce -- who was somehow shut out of the Female Artist of the Year category. 

“The biggest artists in music show up every year because this is the awards show that fans truly control,” iHeartRadio president John Sykes said. “With iHeartRadio now reaching such a diverse audience, this year we have expanded to giving awards in more than 30 categories.”

Bruno Mars -- who is also nominated in one of this year’s socially voted categories -- was the first performer announced for the awards show.

Here is a look at this year’s nominees:

Song of the Year:
“Can’t Stop The Feeling,” Justin Timberlake
“Cheap Thrills,” Sia featuring Sean Paul
“Closer,” The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
“One Dance,” Drake featuring Wizkid and Kyla
“Stressed Out,” twenty one pilots

Female Artist of the Year:
Ariana Grande
Selena Gomez

Male Artist of the Year:
Justin Bieber
Luke Bryan
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd

Best Duo/Group of the Year:
Florida Georgia Line
The Chainsmokers
twenty one pilots

Alternative Rock Song of the Year:
“Bored to Death,” blink-182
“Dark Necessities,” Red Hot Chili Peppers
“Heathens,” twenty one pilots
“Ride,” twenty one pilots
“Trouble,” Cage The Elephant

Alternative Rock Artist of the Year:
Cage The Elephant
The Strumbellas
twenty one pilots

Rock Song of the Year:
“Bang Bang,” Green Day
“Dark Necessities,” Red Hot Chili Peppers
“Take Me Down,” The Pretty Reckless
“The Devil’s Bleeding Crown,” Volbeat
“The Sound Of Silence,” Disturbed

Rock Artist of the Year:
Five Finger Death Punch
Red Hot Chili Peppers

Country Song of the Year:
“Church Bells,” Carrie Underwood
“Snapback,” Old Dominion
“Somewhere On A Beach,” Dierks Bentley
“T-Shirt,” Thomas Rhett
“You Should Be Here,” Cole Swindell

Country Artist of the Year:
Carrie Underwood
Jason Aldean
Keith Urban
Luke Bryan
Thomas Rhett

Dance Song of the Year:
“Closer,” The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey
“Cold Water,” Major Lazer featuring Justin Bieber and MØ
“Don’t Let Me Down,” The Chainsmokers featuring Daya
“I Took A Pill In Ibiza,” Mike Posner
“Let Me Love You,” DJ Snake featuring Justin Bieber

Dance Artist of the Year:
Calvin Harris
DJ Snake
Major Lazer
The Chainsmokers

Hip-Hop Song of the Year:
“All The Way Up,” Fat Joe and Remy Ma featuring French Montana and Infared
“Controlla,” Drake
“For Free,” DJ Khaled featuring Drake
“One Dance,” Drake featuring Wizkid and Kyla
“Panda,” Desiigner

Hip-Hop Artist of the Year:
DJ Khaled
J. Cole

R&B Song of the Year:
“Exchange,” Bryson Tiller
“Needed Me,” Rihanna
“No Limit,” Usher featuring Young Thug
“Sorry,” Beyoncé
“Work,” Rihanna featuring Drake

R&B Artist of the Year:
Bryson Tiller
The Weeknd

Latin Song of the Year:
“Ay Mi Dios,” IAmChino featuring Pitbull, Yandel and El Chacal
“De Pies A Cabeza,” Mana featuring Nicky Jam
“Duele El Corazon,” Enrique Iglesias featuring Wisin
“La Carretera,” Prince Royce
“Ya Me Enteré,” Reik featuring Nicky Jam

Latin Artist of the Year:
Enrique Iglesias
J Balvin
Nicky Jam
Prince Royce

There are even more categories than that, including Best Tour, Best Lyrics and Producer of the Year -- plus a whole slew of awards voted on via social media. Check out the full list here.

The 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards will be held March 5 at the Forum in Inglewood, California, and will be broadcast live on TBS, TNT and truTV. 

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue