The all new
CBS News App for Android® for iPad® for iPhone®
Fully redesigned. Featuring CBSN, 24/7 live news. Get the App

"Laverne & Shirley," "One Day at a Time" to receive TV Land Awards honors

"One Day at a Time"
"One Day at a Time"

(CBS News) The casts of "Laverne & Shirley," "One Day at a Time" and "Pee-wee's Playhouse" will all be honored at the upcoming TV Land Awards.

"Laverne & Shirley" cast members Penny Marshall, Cindy Williams, Michael McKean and David L. Lander will receive the fan favorite honor, while the innovator award will go to Valerie Bertinelli, Bonnie Franklin, Mackenzie Phillips, Glenn Scarpelli and Pat Harrington Jr. of "One Day at a Time." Paul Reubens will be honored for his 1980s children's television series, "Pee-wee's Playhouse."

They join previously announced music icon award honoree Aretha Franklin, along with Kelly Ripa, who will host the 10th anniversary of the awards show.

This is the first time the cast of "Laverne & Shirley" will reunite on television in nearly a decade. The series, which aired from 1976-1983, was a spinoff of the Garry Marshall show, "Happy Days."

"One Day at a Time," which aired on CBS for nine seasons from 1975-1984, tackled topics such a pre-marital sex, suicide and sexual harassment.

The pop culture award will go to "Pee-wee's Playhouse," which ran on CBS from 1986-1991.

The TV Land Awards will take place in New York on April 14. It airs April 29 on TV Land at 9 p.m. ET/PT.