Watch CBSN Live

Savard, Mullen Enter Hockey Hall

High scoring forwards Denis Savard and Joe Mullen and Walter L. Bush, president of USA Hockey, were selected Thursday for induction into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Mullen and Savard have been retired for three years, which is the minimum waiting period for consideration by the selection committee. Bush, a vice-president of the International Ice Hockey Federation, was picked in the builders' category.

The additions swell to 319 the number of honored members: 218 players, 14 referees and linesmen, and 87 builders.

Savard earned 1,338 points for 17th spot on the career list before retiring after 17 seasons in 1997 to become an assistant coach with the Chicago Blackhawks.

"It's a great day for me and Joey," he said. "It's something I'll cherish forever.

"It's probably one of the toughest halls to get into in sports. For me to be part of that obviously is the greatest thrill in sports in my life."

Mullen played 17 NHL seasons with St. Louis, Calgary, Pittsburgh and Boston and amassed 1,063 points in 1,062 games.

"I've got chills going up and down my spine," he said. "It's a real thrill for me to go into the hall."

The 18-member committee consists of former players Bobby Orr, Serge Savard, Stan Mikita and Marty Pavelich, NHL vice-president Jim Gregory, general managers Pat Quinn of Toronto and Harry Sinden of Boston, Tampa Bay Lightning consultant Cliff Fletcher, and Emile Francis, the former NHL player, coach and manager.

Media representatives on the committee are Red Fisher of the Montreal Gazette, Jim Proudfoot of the Toronto Star, Bert Raymond of Le Journal de Montreal, Kevin Allen of USA Today, and broadcasters Dick Irvin and Frank Selke. Ed Chynoweth of Edmonton, a director of the WHL junior league, Washington Capitals president Richard Patrick and former referee Frank Udvari round out the committee.

The induction celebration will be held Nov. 13.

©2000 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue