Watch CBSN Live

McMahon Enters College Hall

Jim McMahon feels honored to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame, even if he doesn't really like watching the game.

"I'm not a big fan (of football)," McMahon said. "When I was a little kid I used to watch a lot, but since I started playing I hate watching games. I'd rather play, and if I can't play I'd rather do something else."

His fellow enshrinees included Tom Osborne, Bo Jackson and Don Coryell.

This year's class of 22 players and coaches was to be enshrined in the hall Friday night. The Division I-A players and coaches were elected last year and inducted during a ceremony in New York. The Divisional class was elected this spring.

Other enshrinees include Division I players Al Brosky, Brad Budde, Bill Fralic, Randy Gradishar, Mel Long, Jerry Rhome, Jim Richter, Johnny Roland, Alex Sarkisian and Bill Stanfill.

The Divisional Class includes players George Bork, Teel Bruner, George Floyd, Willie Galimore, Jim LeClair and Randy Trautman, along with coaches Billy Nicks and Jim Sochor.

The hall waived its normal three-year waiting period for only the second time in electing Osborne, who retired in 1997.

One of the winningest coaches in Division I-A history, Osborne led Nebraska to national titles in 1994 and 1995, and his 1997 squad shared the crown with Michigan. He was 255-49-3 in his 25 years as the Cornhuskers' coach and reached the 250-win mark in his 302nd game, faster than anyone else.

Jackson is the lone Heisman winner in this year's class, taking home the trophy in 1985 during his senior year at Auburn. Jackson was a consensus All-American in 1983 and an unanimous selection in 1985.

McMahon, the "punky QB," never seemed to fit in with BYU's Mormon image, but he threw for 9,536 yards and 84 touchdowns while completing 61 percent of his 1,060 attempts.

"All the other offenses I played in were boring compared to college," said McMahon, who doubts the pro Hall of Fame will come calling next.

"I doubt that'll happen. If you boys in the media are voting for me, I don't have a chance."

Coryell, who revolutionized the college passing game with his "Air Coryell" attack, was to be enshrined in the divisional class for his coaching days at Whittier College and San Diego State.

His San Diego State teams ran off a 25-game winning streak that was soon followed by a 31-game unbeaten streak. His teams had three unbeaten seasons in 1966, 1968 and 1969, and his 1966 team was picked by the Associated Press as the top college team.

©1999 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed

View CBS News In