AU Assigns 6 Presidents To Mediate In Ivory Coast

AP Image Ingested via Automated Feed
ADDIS ABABA, Ethiopia (AP) - The African Union has named a panel of six African presidents to mediate Ivory Coast's political crisis.

The list announced Monday at the AU summit includes two leaders who came to power through elections - the presidents of South Africa and Tanzania.

But the panel also includes three men who headed coups in their countries - the leaders of Mauritania, Chad and Burkina Faso.

Nigeria's president and the current chairman of the African Union will both serve on the panel, which is being given a month to try to resolve the crisis in Ivory Coast.

The country's incumbent leader Laurent Gbagbo has refused to leave office two months after the international community said he lost the election to Alassane Ouattara.