Watch CBS News

Perry Beats White, Wins Third Straight Term

AUSTIN (AP/CBSDFW.COM) - Republican Gov. Rick Perry has defeated Democrat Bill White to win a third four-year term as Texas governor.

Perry hammered hard all year on the theme that the Texas economy is better than many states and that hundreds of thousands of jobs have been created during his decade in office.

He also repeatedly criticized President Barack Obama and national Democrats and tried to link White to them.

White is the former Houston mayor. He kept his distance from the president and cast himself as an independent Democrat. He had claimed Perry had been governor too long and that he was using his office to reward his friends and campaign donors.

Even before the election, Perry held the record as the longest-serving Texas governor.  Perry is the first Texas governor to win three four-year terms.

Texas has no term limits for its governor.

Click here for complete election results.

(Copyright 2010 by CBS Local Media.  All Rights Reserved. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.