Watch CBS News

North Texas-Area Counties Included In Updated FEMA List For Disaster Declaration

Follow CBSDFW.COM: Facebook | Twitter

NORTH TEXAS (CBSDFW.COM) — Some counties around North Texas are included in a list of six that the Federal Emergency Management Agency added to the March 19 federal disaster declaration, making them able to apply for disaster assistance for recent severe weather damage.

Parker, Hood and Erath counties have all been approved for both individual and public assistance, FEMA said in a statement Saturday. Gregg, Harrison and Marion counties also join Jasper, Newton and Orange counties, which had been previously approved.

FEMA said those who incurred damage or losses resulting from storms, tornados and flooding that began on March 7 should apply for disaster assistance. Homeowners and renters could receive grants to help offset the cost of temporary housing, essential repairs or other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical expenses, as part of the assistance.

The agency also said those with insurance that had flood or storm damage should still register with FEMA, as under-insured applicants could be eligible for assistance after settled claims, but it can't duplicate insurance payments.

Other types of assistance available include low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration and certain categories of public assistance, a program that partially reimburses state and local governments and some private nonprofits.

Those interested can apply online at or by phone at 800-621-3362 or TTY 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service can call 800-621-3362. Toll-free numbers are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. everyday. Head to the Texas section of the FEMA website for more information.

(©2016 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.