Watch CBS News

Georgia Film Critics Association Announces 2016 Winners

Georgia Film Critics Association Announces 2016 Winners

Photo courtesy of Lionsgate

The Georgia Film Critics Association has announced their 2016 winners, with "Moonlight" and "La La Land" dominating the awards.  Unique to the GAFCA is the Oglethorpe Award, which "The Nice Guys" won this year. Each year, the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema is bestowed upon a feature film or short film that was produced in Georgia.

I am proud to be a member of the Georgia Film Critics Association since its inception in 2011. The Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) was created with the intention to promote film criticism and the film industry within the state of Georgia. While critics groups are prevalent in many parts of the country, the GAFCA is the first of its kind to be based solely in the state of Georgia. GAFCA membership is open to members of the reviewing press—whether through online, radio, television or print media. GAFCA has over 25 members.  Information on the GAFCA and past award winners can be found at


Georgia Film Critics Association 2016 Winners:

Best PictureMoonlight

Best Director –  Damien Chazelle (La La Land)

Best Actor – Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)

Best Actress – Natalie Portman (Jackie)

Best Supporting Actor – Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)

Best Supporting Actress – Viola Davis (Fences)

Best Original ScreenplayLa La Land - Damien Chazelle

Best Adapted ScreenplayMoonlight – Barry Jenkins

Best CinematographyMoonlight – James Laxton

Best Production DesignLa La Land – David Wasco, Austin Gorg

Best Original ScoreLa La Land – Justin Hurwitz

Best Original Song – "City of Stars" – Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (La La Land)

Best EnsembleMoonlight

Best Foreign FilmElle

Breakthrough Award – Mahershala Ali (Free State of Jones, Hidden Figures, Kicks, Moonlight)

Best Animated Film Zootopia

Best Documentary FilmO.J.: Made in America

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia CinemaThe Nice Guys – Shane Black, Anthony Bagarozzi

View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.