Calif. parents may be fined $1K for underage drinking at home
Message to adults living in Laguna Beach, California: If you serve alcohol to minors in your home, your wallet may feel a lot lighter.
That is because the city council this week is pushing ahead with a proposal for a "Social Host" ordinance that would fine parents and adults for hosting events that enable underage kids to have alcohol, CBS Los Angeles reported. (Scroll down to watch report).
The council indicated that it would pursue a fine of $1,000 that could be waived for a first-time offender if he or she takes a class.
The ordinance also stated an exemption in which "the use of alcoholic beverages that occurs exclusively between an underage person and his or her parent and/or legal guardian."
While the ordinance has the support of Mothers Against Drunk Drivers and the PTA, critics argue that it is far safer for young people to drink with a parent around them than to do it in more riskier situations as in cars.
"It is my right as a parent to protect or raise my child the way I want," said one man at a meeting.
The council hasn't made a decision yet and would like to revisit the ordinance issue in January.
Popular on CBSNews.com
- Firsthand look at MTA mega-digs 11 Photos
- Disruptive man on United jet taken off flight
- Shock as alleged Nazi unit leader, 94, found in U.S
- Feds digging in Mich. field for Jimmy Hoffa's remains
- Church shooting in Ogden, Utah not a random act of violence Play Video
- Day care worker accused of drugging snacks for nap-time
- Former hitman testifies at "Whitey" Bulger trial
- Orca spotted off Calif. coast Play Video